Hem  |  
Anpassa  |  
Översikt  |  
Lunds universitet

Organizing Molecular Matter

OMM Annual Report 2012



4th Scandinavian Meeting on Amyloid Proteins and Disease
Lund, Nov 18-20, 2013


November 2013: OMM scientist awarded Future Research Leader grant
Mikael Lund received an individual grant (SEK 10 million) for "Future Research Leaders" from The Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research (SSF). The grant is intended for innovative research and given young scientists who have the potential to and are prepared to become future leaders of academic and industrial research in Sweden. More information

October 2013: Professor awarded for skin research
Professor Emma Sparr has been awarded the Sven and Ebba-Christina Hagberg Foundation 2013 personal prize. The prize includes research funding of SEK 300.000. Professor Sparr receives the prize for her biophysical studies of protein-lipid systems and properties of skin. Her research has relevance for drug development and cosmetics.

September 2013: ERC Advanced grants to 2 OMM scientists
Last week the European Research Council announced the 2013 ERC Advanced Grants. Two OMM partners received this very prestigious grant: Sara Linse, professor in physical chemistry and molecular protein science,  with the project "Molecular mechanism of amyloid beta aggregation”; and Peter Schurtenberger, professor in physical chemistry, with the project “Colloids with complex interactions: from model atoms to colloidal recognition and bioinspired self assembly”.
The ERC Advanced grants are awarded to well-established top researchers of any nationality/age, scientifically independent and with a recent research track-record and profile which identifies them as leaders in their respective field(s). Of a total of 2408 applications 284 were granted and 3 of those come from Lund University. More information can be found in the press release from the ERC, on webpages of Lund University homepage and the Swedish Research Council.

September 2013: Valuable formulation research. Fredrik Tiberg, President and Head of Research for the pharmaceutical company Camurus and Adjunct Professor at Physical Chemistry, reports that Novartis has acquired an exclusive worldwide license to develop and commercialize CAM2029, a long-acting peptide drug developed by Camurus for the treatment of patients with acromegaly and neuroendocrine tumors. The aquisition triggers an undisclosed milestone payment to Camurus from potential payments of up to US$ 700 million. Read more here.

August 2013: The Aug 20 issue of Langmuir features an Invited Feature Article by Lennart Piculell on "Understanding and exploiting the phase behavior of mixtures of oppositely charged polymers and surfactants in water". The article is also highlighted on the cover of the issue. Read the article here.

June 2013: The master program "Organizing Molecular Matter" in nanochemistry, taught by teachers from the OMM environment, was the only one to receive the top grade in a national evaluation of all 29 bachelor and master chemistry programs offered by the science faculties at Swedish universities.

June 2013: Daniel Topgaard was promoted to Professor.

May 2013: Our former PhD student Joakim Stenhammar has received 2013 year's Inga Fisher-Hjalmarsons Award for his thesis Theoretical Studies of Simple Polar Fluids. Read more here.

April 2013: A recent work dealing with fundamental questions of how nearly spherical viruses are formed through a co-assembly process was highlighted on the cover of Journal of Chemical Physics. The study was made by Ran Zhang and Per Linse.

January 2013: The confocal microscopy study of structural ordering, dynamics, and phase behavior of dense microgel suspensions by Divya Paloli, Priti Mohanty, Jérôme Crassous, Emanuela Zaccarelli, and Peter Schurtenberger was highlighted on the cover of Soft Matter.

December 2012: The latest diffusion NMR pulse sequence by Stefanie Eriksson, Samo Lasic, and Daniel Topgaard was featured on the cover of Journal of Magnetic Resonance. Read the article here.

October 2012: Anna Stradner was appointed Associate Professor in Physical Chemistry - Biocolloids and Scattering Methods.

June 2012: OMM received excellent reviews in the Swedish Research Council's midterm evaluation of its Linneaus Centers. The financial support of OMM will remain unchanged for the final years until 2016. The full report can be found here.

December 2011: Viveka Alfredsson was promoted to Professor.

October 2011: The recent article about measuring water exchange with diffusion MRI by Daniel Topgaard and colleagues was highlighted in the Spinsights NMR blog.

October 2011: Daniel Topgaard was granted SEK 2,500,000 by the Faculty of Science for the formation of an NMR-center including most of the current NMR spectrometers at the Department of Chemistry. 

September 2011: During 2011 there has been a debate on Swedish television about the adhesion of fermented dairy products to packages. Because of that, in Sweden alone, approximately 2000 tones of top-quality yoghurt, goes directly into the waste bin. In collaboration with department of Theoretical Chemistry at Lund University, and the division of New Material Design at Tetra Pak, a master thesis project was set up, with focus on why fermented milk products stick to packaging materials.

September 2011: Emma Sparr reports from the World Economic Forum of the New Championship - read the article (in Swedish)

August 2011: Sara Snogerup Linse received the EuCheMS Distinguished Women in Chemistry/Chemical Engineering Award. Together with 22 other eminent women re-searchers in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering from all over the world Sara Snogerup Linse received an award for Distinguished Women in Chemistry/Chemical Engineering at the IUPACs World Chemistry Congress in San Juan, Puerto Rico. This is part of the ACS Challenge Grant-Interational Year of Chemistry Celebration.Read more 

June 2011: Södra's Research Foundation funds Theoretical Chemistry with SEK 2.000.000. The project, lead by Mikael Lund and Gunnar Karlström, focuses on dissolution of cellulose molecules and is part of the CelluNova project

May 2011: Emma Sparr becomes Young Academy member. The Young Academy of Sweden has been founded. The initiative comes from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (KVA). The academy is an independent organization for young researchers from all scientific areas. It´s aim is to strengthen Sweden as a nation of knowledge.  More information

March 2011: Emma Sparr was appointed Professor in Physical chemistry - Colloidal Biology

February, 2011:
News article.
 The new article about magnetic nanoparticles by Peter Schurtenberger and colleagues was featured in the  news section  of J. Phys.: Condens. Matter:
“Magnetic properties of silica coated spindle-type hematite particles ”, M Reufer et al.  J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 23, 065102 (2011)

February, 2011:
Hot article in Soft Matter.
 A new article from researchers at Physical Chemistry has been highlighted on the Soft Matter blog:
“Work hardening of soft glassy materials, or a metallurgist’s view of peanut butter”, Romaric R. R. Vincent and Peter Schurtenberger,  Soft Matter, 2011

Webmaster: webmaster@lth.se
Last updated: 2014-07-02